There is already a huge amount of information out there about COVID-19 and it can be difficult to know what to pay attention to so our mental health committee we have put together some resources of what may be helpful along with some app suggestions and useful phone numbers.


AreaPractical TipsResources
Accessing helpful information It’s important to access information through high quality sources https://www.nhsinform.scot/coronavirus 
https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/coronavirus-and-your-wellbeing/
Staying physically well Physical activity is very beneficial to our mental health and wellbeing. Ross from Commando X FIT has a large number of exercise videos on his instagram page. @commando_X_fit
https://www.instagram.com/commando_x_fit/
Staying social Staying social and in contact with friends and family can impact positively on our mental health. Difficult at this time; however there are suggestions and ideas to do this included in the resource. https://www.latimes.com/lifestyle/story/2020-03-19/stay-virtually-connected-with-friends
Keeping the kids happy Children are also worried about these uncertain times, reassure them they are safe and try and maintain a routine and structure throughout the day. https://mummymatters.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/Corona-Anxiety-self-help.pdf 
https://young.scot/campaigns/national/coronavirus 
https://emergingminds.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/COVID19_advice-for-parents-and-carers_20.3_.pdf

Useful Apps:

AppsDescription
CalmCalm provides people experiencing stress and anxiety with guided meditations, sleep stories, breathing programs, and relaxing music. 
Headspace: Meditation and sleep The Headspace app makes meditation simple. Learn the skills of mindfulness and meditation by using this app for just a few minutes per day.

Support:


• SAMH – W: www.samh.org.uk T: 0141 530 1000
• Scottish Recovery Network – W: www.scottishrecovery.net T: 0141 240 7790 E: info@scottishrecovery.net
• Rethink – W: www.rethink.org
• Know the Score – W: www.knowthescore.info T: 0800 587 5879
• Breathing Space – W: www.breathingspace.scot T: 0800 838587
• Childline – W: www.childline.org.uk T: 0800 1111
• Samaritans – W: www.samaritans.org T: 116123 E: jo@samaritans.org
• Anxiety UK – W: www.anxiety.org.uk T: 08444 775774
• Eating Disorders Association – W: www.b-eat.co.uk T: 0808 801 0677 / 0808 801 0711
(youthline) E: help@b-eat.co.uk
• Self Harm info – W: www.selfharm.co.uk
• Support in Mind – W: www.supportinmindscotland.org.uk T: 0131 662 4359 E:
info@supportinmindscotland.org.uk
• Young Minds – www.youngminds.org – text free 24/7 to 85258 (parent helpline with young
person in crisis T: 0808 8025544)
• Back Onside – www.backonside.co.uk – T: 07528 243100 offer support through sport
• Time to Change – W: https://www.time-to-change.org.uk
• Men’s Health Forum – W: https://www.menshealthforum.org.uk/
• Mind The Men – MindTheMen Facebook
• Mates in Mind – https://www.matesinmind.org
• LGBT Community – https://www.scottishtrans.org/link-categories/scottish-lgbt/ (contains
links to various organisations who can provide further information and support)
• NHS24 Living Life – https://breathingspace.scot/living-life/ 0800 328 9655 (for mild-
moderate Anxiety / Depression)
• SANELine – 0300 304 7000 every day of the year from 4.30pm – 10.30pm
• Suicide Prevention – W: www.chooselife.net
Support/Self Help
• Mind – W: www.mind.org.uk
• Living Life to the Full – W: www.llttf.com Online CBT treatments
• Mood Gym – W: www.moodgym.anu.edu.au Based on CBT
• Mood Juice NHS – W: www.moodjuice.scot.nhs.uk

• Books – CBT Self Help
• Overcoming Depression – A Five Areas Approach, Chris Williams
• Overcoming Anxiety – A Five Areas Approach, Chris Williams
• Overcoming Low Self Esteem – Melanie Fennell
• The Worry Cure – Robert L Leahy
• Mind Over Mood – Dennis Greenberger and Christine Padesky

Apps
• Headspace – meditation
• Calm Harm – self harm
• Stay Alive – suicide prevention
• Bee Appy – provides you with top tips to take control of your emotional wellbeing
• Calm – breathing techniques
• What’s Up – self help based on Cognitive Behavioural and Acceptance & Commitment
Therapies
• Elefriends – from mind.org.uk
• Mental Health Recovery Guide – tips and tools for the road to recovery
• Moodpath – Depression & Anxiety
• SAM App – Anxiety Management
NHS Digital Apps Library – https://www.nhs.uk/apps-library/filter/?categories=Mental%20health
Video Links
• The Black Dog (depression) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XiCrniLQGYc
• The Mind (anxiety and worry) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emHAoQGoQic
• ACT (Acceptance and Commitment Therapy) –
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QS13jRcaufs
• Inside Out (emotions) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tNsTy-j_sQs
• Suicide –
• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loiGNZTfu6g

https://www.ted.com/talks/jeremy_forbes_how_to_start_a_conversation_about_s
uicide?utm_campaign=tedspread&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=tedcomshar